Last week we went over linting for non-inclusive language. During class, I was confronted with the idea that certain phrasing that I often use could be taken negatively. My last blog was about the best practices for software documentation. The blog I found mentioned inclusive language briefly at the end and didn’t go into much detail. Because of this, I decided to find a blog that focuses on how to write inclusive documentation.

The blog I found that went through this topic is “How to write inclusive documentation?” by Selvaraaju Murugesan. In this article, Murugesan breaks down how to produce inclusive documentation in five steps: (1) Use gender-neutral terms, (2) Choose a neutral and friendly tone, (3) Avoid using slang words, (4) Use visuals that are diverse in nature, and (5) Use the right terms when discussing accessibility and disability. The directions and reasons behind each recommendation were clearly explained with examples to aid in understanding.

Because writers do not know anything about their audience there are many cautionary steps that a technical writer has to take.  In the new day and age, writers should keep in mind to write in a gender-neutral way to avoid discriminating against women and people of the LQBT+. He also advised using wording that removes cultural bias. He steers clear of terms like “slave-master architecture” as well. He also mentioned that local slang words may be offensive so it’s best to avoid using them. Terms that can be considered judgemental, patronizing, or exhibit euphemisms should be avoided as well. 

As alluded to in my previous blog, I have experience checking for non-inclusive language because I worked on code for Libre Food Pantry and Thea’s Pantry. When working on the linters for these projects, I discovered that there was a linter that checks for non-inclusive language. I didn’t give too much thought about the changes that the linter suggested. It wasn’t until recently in class that I gave it more thought. I didn’t think about why using “simply”, “clearly, or “of course” could be an issue for the audience. It is important to avoid deterring others from using software or wanting to be involved in the tech field. I realized that it is important to recognize that not everyone will find something simple to implement so to imply that it will be is not the best choice when trying to be inclusive. 

After going through the class activity and reading the blog, I have gained a better insight into how to choose my phrasing carefully. Although it may be slightly difficult to break certain habits, I am now better suited to identify non-inclusive language and will apply my knowledge to future projects.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started